About Us

About us

Why HMA?

Established in 2011, the Houghton Muslim Academy (HMA) prides itself on being established for the sole purpose of serving the community and fulfilling a core need in the quest for higher learning. We pride ourselves on a high standard of both Islamic and secular teaching and nurturing. The HMA continues into its 2nd decade as a leading state of the heart Islamic educational institution with a holistic approach to education and the lessons of life.

HMA offers Pre-School, Foundation, and Intermediate phase classes. Offering Toddler all the way through to Grade-8, with state-of-the-art classrooms, along with the capacity to offer online lessons when required. Our unique offering is ascribed to our Islamic-based teaching philosophy adapted to align with National Education Standards.

Given our unwavering commitment to holistic development, our approach is underpinned by academic excellence, religious enlightenment, and extracurricular development. We adapt constantly to the rapid development in technology and methodology. We are also aware of the need to help conserve and protect our environment, thus we make use of both solar power and borehole water. HMA has chosen this approach to successfully achieve its vision in producing tomorrow’s leaders.

0 +
0 +
0 +
Dedicated Staff
State of the Heart School

Meet the HMA Family

Yussuf Bham –  Chairman

Imraan Osman –  Vice Chairman

Yousuf Laher

Firoz Laher

Ml. Ridwaan Hoosen

Ahmed Gani

Muzzafar Loot

Yusuf Bhamjee

Yusuf Bodiat

Headmaster – Mr.Muhammed Zunaid Nanabhay

Ameer & Head of Islamiyaat – Mufti Zaid Aboobaker Minty

Head Administrator – Raheema Kooreyshi

Finance – Taleah Bux

Head of Intersen Phase – Mr Shepherd Khumalo

Head of Foundation Phase – Tasneem Kazie Abrahim 

Head of Pre-prep Phase – Naeema Vawda

Head of Sports – Coach Ridwaan Majam

Head of IT – Mohammed Yaaseen Ebrahim

Receptionist – Tsona Motsepe

Finance Assist – Mohsin Ahmed Wadee

Mufti Zaid Aboobaker Minty (Ameer)

Apa Nazeera Limalia

Apa Sumayya Ebrahim

Apa Faeeza Motara Moosa

Moulana Muaaz Dabhelia

Moulana Majid Patel

Qari Saad Matheriya

Apa Farhana Mitha

Apa Soomayya Seedat

Apa Tasneem Hendricks

Apa Farhat Cassim

Apa Sumaiyah Mulla

Naeema Vawda- Head of Section

Aneesa Ebrahim

Azraa Rahiman

Amirah Samaria

Saffiyah Mayet

Tasneem Kazie AbrahimHead of Section

Rudaiba Desai 

Leyha Rahiman Prasadh

Mahdiyya Mansoor

Shahana Moolla

Sumaiyah Meer

Tanisha Ganda

Sabeehah Yoosoof

Shepherd Andile Khumalo – Head of Section

Tasneem Asmal

Tasneem Bhaiyat

Zaheeda Omar

Zeenat Abdulla

Nabeelah Sujee

Sadia Tickley

Nabeelah Mayet

Sabeehah Nanabhay

Raeesa Choonara

Shaakira Farred

Our Affiliations